Home 9 General 9 How to cast Avada Kedavra and other Unforgivable curses in Hogwarts?

How to cast Avada Kedavra and other Unforgivable curses in Hogwarts?

by | Feb 18, 2023

Reading Time: 2 min.
Reading Time: 2 min.

Harry Potter fans are naturally attracted to Gryfindor and are highly moral regarding Dark Arts. But even the most virtuous can get curious in Hogwarts Legacy when unforgivable curses are at their disposal. 

The original Harry Potter books made clear that Dark Magic is cursed and takes a toll on the caster, eventually driving them crazy if not used consciously. But, when there’s no consequence to indulging in dark magic, even the best student will find themselves tempted. When Avalanche announced that you could be evil in Hogwarts Legacy, players couldn’t wait to try out the unforgivable curses finally, but practically, it’s not that easy. 

In order to be able to cast unforgivable curses, you must be level 16 or higher and complete certain quests, including:

  • The High Keep
  • Main story quest Professor Weasley’s Assignment
  • Main story quest Lodgok’s Loyalty

Once you have completed these three quests, you should be level 16 or higher and be eligible to activate the “In the Shadow” quest line, which is crucial to casting the three unforgivable curses. Here are the five parts of the questline:

  • In the Shadow of the Bloodline
  • In the Shadow of the Study
  • In the Shadow of Discovery
  • In the Shadow of Time
  • In the Shadow of the Relic

This is all you need to know before getting into the three unforgivable curses: Imperio, Crucio, and Avada Kedavra

How to cast Avada Kedavra in Hogwarts Legacy?

Hogwarts Legacy Avadakedavra

The instant death curse in Hogwarts Legacy, Avada Kedavra, requires players to communicate with Sebastian Swallow, a student at Slytherin who’d stop at nothing to learn more about the Dark Arts. 

To learn this, you must be level 27 in Hogwarts Legacy to start In the Shadow of Relic quest. Since this is the last part of the quest line, you should be at a high level anyway and be eligible to cast the killing curse. Once the quest begins, Sebastian will cast the Killing Curse and offer to teach you. If you have completed the main story quest Lodgok’s Loyalty, you should be able to learn it.  

How to unlock Crucio?

Cruciatus curse or Crucio, which caused excruciating pain to the enemy in books, does the same in Hogwarts Legacy. It deals heavy damage in bursts, and here’s how you can unlock it. 

This is the first unforgivable curse you learn at level 16 by starting In the Shadow of the Study quest. You’ll need to have Reparo, and Incendio activated to move forward in the mission and then examine different gates and rotate symbols on nearby snake puzzles to match. 

Once you get the puzzle right, Sebastian presents you with three options: Refuse to learn the curse, learn the curse and have Sebastian cast it on you, or learn the curse and cast it on Sebastian. 

How to learn Imperio?

In the Shadow of Time begins in a spider-infested tomb in Feldcroft. Make sure you have activated Incendio and Wingardium Leviosa to make your way toward the target location. Sebastian will offer to teach you Imperio, to which you should say yes if you wish to control your enemies. 

What do you think?

Pin It on Pinterest